Dreary, Drizzly Days

Mileage Log

October 2011:                     19.05 miles

November 2011:               26.28 miles   [+38%]

December 2011 [MTD]:   15.09 miles

  1. Week ending 12/3:      10.25 miles
  2. Week ending 12/10:     5.98 miles
  3. Week ending  12/17 [WTD]:     5.61 miles

Do you ever have those days when it’s dark and dreary out, almost raining but not really, and it seems like your energy has been sucked right out of you?  Well combine that with a lousy night’s sleep and that would be me today.  I’m feeling tired, sluggish, and unmotivated.  It probably didn’t help that I ate 1/2 of a large chicken salad sandwich with cranberries and walnuts for lunch. (Not complaining about that. It was spectacular.)

I bet you're hungry now, aren't you?

The last thing on my To Do list is run. Let’s just say “pick up the dog from daycare” is the only other thing on that list. My knee is also still a little sore, unless that’s me trying to find another reason not to run.  This week I’ve logged 5.61 miles and if I can run my usual 3.5+ miles today and Saturday I will have logged more than 12 miles this week… my biggest week yet.  Why am I still even thinking about this?  Just do it.

I’m reading through Women’s Health Magazine’s 101 Greatest Running Tips and listening to the Ting Tings to try to get motivated.

“Running 8 to 15 miles per week significantly increases your aerobic capacity, and positively effects many of the coronary risk factors.”

–Dr. Kenneth Cooper, aerobics pioneer 

So far that’s only #2 and already my motivation to run today has gone from 0% to 1%.  Maybe by the end I’ll be at 100%.  I guess I’ll continue reading on….

Leave a Reply

