Weekend Runs

Friday, 2/3 Workout: Ran C25K W6D3 on treadmill 3.05 miles / 35:00 1. incline

This was a good run and it was hard.  I think my treadmill runs are always harder because a) it’s boring and b) the temperature is uncomfortable.  It’s always hot and smelly in the gym, and time passes way too slowly.  But I’ve already complained about that before, so moving on….

I paced myself a little slower than the last few runs at around a 10:35 minute mile, which I think is comfortable for me right now until I get a little more fit.  My legs always feel fine, but it’s my lungs that are more of the problem.  I know that as I keep running, my lungs will get stronger, and I’ll be able to run further and faster.  I look forward to the day when I can 30+ minutes without stopping again, and hopefully it’ll only be a couple more weeks till I get back to that point.

………………………

Sunday, 2/5 Workout: Ran C25K W6D3 in the park 3.19 miles / 38:00

Today was the first time I’ve run outside since December, which was also the last time I felt like I had a genuinely good run.  I don’t know what is is about outdoor runs, but they’re just so much better…

It was a beautiful day — sunny with no wind, and not too cold.  For me, the perfect temperature for an outdoor run is the mid-40s to mid-50s, but beggars can’t be choosers.  Pace wise, I was a little slower than normal, averaging around a 11:00 pace, but it was a little chilly out (around 36°) and I know my body and my lungs are not used to running in the cold.  A few more runs outside on the weekend and I should be running at a faster pace.

My goal this month is to get back to running at least 3x a week.  With two good runs under my belt already this month, I think I’ve found the motivation I need to get back on track.

Leave a Reply

