Moving to Stay Fit

I mentioned in one of my other posts that I started Weight Watchers (again) in March 2011.  Something I started doing over the last few months, in conjunction with eating healthy, is drafting up a weekly activity/exercise plan.  Exercise is half, if not more, of the equation when losing weight and maintaining weight loss, so I knew that a plan was something that would help me lose those last few pounds and maintain my weight goal.

I typically know my schedule one week ahead of time, so I knew a weekly plan was something I could commit to. Of course, we all have hiccups and unexpected things come up, but it’s important to be flexible and not give up just because something didn’t go according to plan.  It’s important to really commit to doing something for 30 minutes each and every day, even if it’s just two short walks a day.

Even though I’ve drafted these plans for several weeks now, I vowed to really commit to my plan starting in February.  I knew my schedule had to be reasonable – I just don’t have time or energy to exercise hardcore 5x a week – so I added some long walks or weights some days.  My results so far are the following:

  • Week ending 2/11: Five out of seven days of activity including 3 walks, 2 runs, 1 cardio-kickboxing session, and one strength training sessions
  • Week ending 2/18: Five out of seven days of activity including 3 walks, 2 runs, and one strength training sessions

So far this week, I’m 3 for 3 which is a good sign of things to come.  I have one run, one walk, one cardio-kickboxing session, and one strength training sessions under my belt so far.  On my plan is 4-5 walks (weather permitting), 3 runs, and 2 strength training sessions.  I tend to fall off with activity at the end of the week, so those are times when I really need to focus, focus, focus.  My muscles are already a little sore from this week’s exercise, but it’s only making me more motivated to keep with it.

The only problem with being more active if you want to eat everything in sight, including crap you really shouldn’t be eating but really want to.  It’s important to find the right balance and I’m still trying to find it.

What tools do you use to stay on track with your health?  How are you balancing food and exercise?  What can you do to make your lifestyle a little more active?

5 thoughts on “Moving to Stay Fit

  1. Agreed, the balance is tricky when we work out more, making sure we don’t negate the benefits by eating… the appetite can sure get unwieldy. I think you’re doing really well in finding that balance!

    • It’s important to eat when you need to, but eat the right things instead of just what you’re craving. Eventually I’ll crave the things that are good for me. =) I’m still not at the point yet.

      • I hear you! The other thing, though, is that no matter what we’re eating, even if it’s the healthy or “right” things, we can still eat too much. I think sometimes people use the fact that they’re eating healthy foods as a license to overeat, but that will lead to weight gains or stalls just as much as fries and cake can.

        That’s why I love WW, whatever I have I know I have to count and track the quantities. 🙂

  2. Wow! You are doing great!

    I eat frequently, but I am pretty militant about what goes in. To stay the course I simply don’t have crap food in my house. That’s not to say I never want crap food, but when I want it I have to go out and get it which often times I won’t do, which means it was just a temporary craving and I save myself. As far as staying true to exercise, I run and lift because I am generally training. Because I am training I feel I have to do what I do if I want to have any semblance of a good run at race time. That’s not to say I am expecting to win, I run slow. But I want to finish the distance and that requires dedication to the training

    Maybe you could put a 5 or 10k race on your calendar. It might be the motivation you need. However I think you’re doing just fine with 5 out of 7 days of working out!

    • We try not to keep crap in the house, and I eat healthy generally, but sometimes I get a little off track and my body knows it. I have a 5K at the end of March and 5-6 other races I want to run by the end of the year. Thank you for your advice! I look forwarding to reading more of your blog, too!

Leave a Reply

