Recovery and Neglect

I admit, I’ve been heavily neglecting my blog as of late and haven’t written much of anything with substance. It’s so easy to just post one picture on Mondays and Tuesday and be done with it because it takes minimal effort. I tried to be diligent with post Five Thing Friday but it’s only happened, I think, twice in the last couple months so I decided I’m going to forgo that all together.

Blogging takes so much effort… I can’t blog before work because I like to sleep later than I should then end up rushing to get ready for work and also preparing the dog for his day. I can’t blog during work, unless it’s my lunch break because I don’t want to get fired. I don ‘t (note that I didn’t write can’t) blog after work because the last thing I want to do when I get home is still with a computer in front of me again, and blogging through my iPhone or iPad is just too much of a pain in the ass. I have tried it and I get more annoyed than anything that I can’t type properly on it.

So in a nutshell, here is what has been going on with me:

  1. Started eating normal food again on Sunday. I had McDonald’s chicken nuggets and french fries for lunch and a turkey burger with bacon for dinner.
  2. I lost a total of 2.6 pounds during my sicky week. Despite what people would normally say, that is just too much weight for me to lose that quickly especially because I don’t weight that much anymore. I’ll try and keep it off but won’t be surprised if my weight goes back up a pound or so after having normal eating habits again.
  3. I ran for 30 minutes on Monday after a 7-day hiatus and was terribly sore for two days after. I ran 30 minutes yesterday and am sore again today. Tomorrow is my third run of the week and I hope to God I am not sore after.
  4. I have a stupid cough now. At least it seems to be going away.
On the running front…

I really want to tackle a 5-miler or 10K some time this year, so I decided to commit to the One Hour Runner training program. Most people train by mileage, but I don’t like to. I train by minutes because it just seems much less daunting for me to say I have to run two more minutes for this run rather than saying I have to run one more milethis run. It worked for me with the Couch to 5K program so I don’t see why OHR wouldn’t work.

For those of you who haven’t heard of it, here is the training program:

W1 – 3: Run 30 minutes three times a week for three weeks.

W4: Run 30 minutes, 29 minutes, 35 minutes. Weekly total: 94 minutes.

W5: Run 30 minutes, 32 minutes, 38 minutes Weekly total: 100 minutes.

W6: Run 30 minutes, 33 minutes, 41 minutes Weekly total: 104 minutes.

W7: Run 30 minutes, 34 minutes, 45 minutes Weekly total: 109 minutes.

W8: Run 30 minutes, 36 minutes , 49 minute Weekly total: 115 minutes.

W9: Run 30 minutes, 38 minutes, 54 minutes Weekly total: 122 minutes.

W10: Run 30 minutes, 40 minutes, 60 minutes Weekly total: 130 minutes.

The reason I prefer this program over Bridge to 10K is because it only calls for one long run a week which I should be able to do on the weekend. I know I likely will have to repeat days and won’t be able to run a 10K in 60 minutes by the end, but it will help me get there sooner with a proper training program rather than just winging it.

Are you currently training for a race? How do you increase your mileage from week to week? What training program, if any, do you follow?

7 thoughts on “Recovery and Neglect

  1. I’ve nearly finished to c25k and was considering the Bridge to 10k, I might try the One Hour Runner programme instead. You’re right, blogging does take a lot of effort!

  2. yes! i found training by time better than by mileage- build endurance first and dont be discouraged by the number of miles you have/have not completed. especially when you consider all the factors (weather, incline, crowd) that can have an effect on your run. good luck!

  3. I agree with you about the blogging! I find if I don’t get my race post done on the weekend, I’m scrambling to find a few minutes here and there during the week, and I usually end up giving up because I’m too tired. So they’re going up later and later now. It feels like work!

    As for the running, I’ve been SO bad on the training front while I’ve been settling into a new job. I’m pretty much winging it on the weekends at the moment, which is why I’m not getting any faster, although I have gone farther. I’ve got my first 10K in Virginia in two weeks. Freaking out.

    I like the look of that plan though. I might give it a try over the next two weeks. Good luck with getting back into it! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

