Blood, Sweat, and Tears… minus the blood. and tears.

It was a record-breaking day in Boston yesterday.  It was 90 degrees in March.  This is insane weather for this time of year in the North East.

I normally head out for my runs during the week around 5:30, shortly after I get home from work.  I waited until 6pm with the hopes that the temperature would start to drop as the sun started to go wrong.  Boy, was I wrong.  It was 85 degrees when I left the house a few minutes after 6, and it was still 83 degrees when I got back from my run 40+ minutes later.

I like running in the park about a 5 minute walk from my house because there’s usually a nice breeze since it’s next to the Neponset River and there are always, always lots of cute dogs around to stare at to help the time pass.  Also, the path is asphalt which is a bit nicer on my knees than the concrete sidewalk by the beach.  There were actually a lot of people out but they were mostly walkers, particularly walkers who don’t know how to stay on the proper side of the path in order to avoid collisions.

From the beginning I knew I had to slow my pace, knowing that if I ran as fast as I have been the last couple of runs, I would surely die.  Five minutes in, I wanted to quit.  God forbid we get eased into this type of weather.  I was already huffing and puffing after a few minutes and I could feel my face already turning a nice shade of crimson red.  How was I going to survive another 25 minutes of this?

Well I pushed through and completed my scheduled 30-minute run.  My splits were 11’46” (including a 5 minute warmup), 10’20” and 10’32” for miles 1, 2 and 3.  Not bad for me in 85 degree heat.

Now I look forward to my run on Saturday at a more normal March temperature — 59 degrees!

4 thoughts on “Blood, Sweat, and Tears… minus the blood. and tears.

  1. Nice job on the splits! I like the heat because it’s slightly easier on the lungs (I haven’t had to use my inhaler the past two weekends, which is a minor miracle), but I definitely don’t like what it does to the face!! What happened to the transition weather? I’m quite looking forward to it getting back to normal this week. 🙂

    • Warmer weather, to me, means things are blooming which means allergies are getting worse which then means asthma. It’s nice not having to be rugged up though. Guess I’ll just have to tough it out and get back into my preventative allergy regiment. =)

      • Not good! I’m waiting for the allergies to hit. Usually I am a disaster, but so far so good. Apart from my eyes, which are so red I look like I’m permanently stoned. 🙂 Are you on Advair? It’s a miracle worker for me. No way I ever would have been able to run without it.

Leave a Reply

