No Excuses

I admit that my interest in The Biggest Loser wavers from season to season. When I started my weight loss journey (WLJ) a year ago, I had nowhere near what the contestants on that show have to lose, but I think that the lessons learned and habits taught are something that anyone can learn from, no matter the size, which is why I watch the show.

There are themes for each season that resonate with me more than others, and this season’s theme of No Excuses seems to resonate with me more than in years past. This is because, in the past, I always found a reason to not exercise or to not eat right.

  • I’m too tired to go to the gym.
  • It’s too late to exercise.
  • I’m too stressed to eat right.
  • Health food doesn’t taste good.
  • It’s raining, so I don’t want to go out.
  • I didn’t get a good night’s sleep, so I don’t have the energy to work out.

I found this motivational poster several weeks ago and posted it as my weekly motivational post several weeks ago. Since then, I’ve tried to keep it in the back of my mind to change my perspective.

On Wednesday I had no desire to run, but I pulled up my big girl panties and did it anyway. No, I didn’t run the entire 30 minutes I had planned on doing, but I still clocked 2 miles. Instead of beating myself up over it, I decided that 2 miles was better than zero miles. It was 2 more miles I otherwise wouldn’t have run had I decided to wave the white flag.

As time goes on I find it’s getting easier to do what’s best for me, but there will always be a piece of me that wants to be lazy and stay in bed all day. I won’t deny that I still use excuses, and sometimes it’s difficult to find the motivation. On those days, I have to dig really, really, really deep to find my inspiration.

What ever decision you make from day to day — whether it’s to eat right or not, exercise or not, be kind to someone or not — you should admit it, accept it, and move forward. Tomorrow is going to be another imperfect day with challenges, obstacles, and less than perfect conditions.

Will you choose to embrace it and live in the No Excuse Zone or will you wave your white flag and surrender to it?

4 thoughts on “No Excuses

  1. No excuses for me, that’s for sure! Like you said, whatever I decide, I own it. Some days, that’s a lazy day. Most days it’s not.

    I’m glad you mentioned being kind. It’s important to me. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

