Running with Asthma & A Week of Positivity

I’ve been in a bit of a slump since last night.  I know I’ve been a little bit of an emotional rollercoaster lately when it comes to exercise, so bear with me.

Last night, I planned to run my usual 30 minute run but called it quits after “only” 26.  I know, I know.  I should be proud of every minute/mile I run, and I’ve been pretty positive about my capabilities lately but last night was not one of those nights.  My lungs were on fire, and I was even coughing during parts of my run, which hasn’t happened in a long time.  I know that this is mainly because of the high pollen count yesterday which aggravated my asthma, but I just can’t stop beating myself up over it.

Instead of dwelling on my negative thoughts and writing about them here, driving me further into negative head space, I decided on my drive to work this morning that I’m going to really focus on turning negatives into positives and let go of what I can’t control.   I will concentrate on this for a week.

There are things I can manage but I can’t change.  I am an asthmatic.  I am a year-round allergy sufferer.  I can’t change these things, but I can adapt by being diligent with my asthma management plan that has helped me move forward from zero to 3+ miles and running indoors when the pollen counts are high.

It’s going to take a lot of effort to catch myself in negative thinking and consciously stop myself.  We’re all guilty of seeing ourselves in a negative light, even if subconsciously.  I will continue repeating positive thoughts to myself when I find myself going in the wrong direction:

  • I am a runner.
  • I am capable of anything I set my mind to, even if it takes a little longer to get there or at a slower pace.
  • Every mile or minute I run is another mile or minute I otherwise would not have run.
  • I have a great support system.
  • I am a much happier, healthier person than I was a year ago.
  • I have come a long, long way.

I’m going to take it a week at a time and go from there.  Care to join me?

Do you often find yourself negative headspace?  How do you get yourself out of it?

10 thoughts on “Running with Asthma & A Week of Positivity

  1. Pingback: My First Attempt At Speed Work | cutedogsandhugs

  2. Pingback: I’d like to thank the Blog-cademy… « cutedogsandhugs

  3. I spent the first three (plus) decades of my life not running, or doing much of anything really, because of my asthma. It’s still the thing that keeps me from moving out of the 10-minute-mile club, although I am trying. But knowing how traumatic running used to be for me (I failed cross country at school and never quite got over it), I am amazed at the fact that I can run at all. The first time I did a 5K without stopping I almost cried. Anyway, that’s what keeps me going when I start wheezing in the middle of a race and I feel like there’s no way I am ever again going to be able to get enough air in. It’s knowing how far I have come, and if I have come this far, perhaps I can go farther. 🙂

    I have had terrible runs where my inhaler was useless and I’ve declared my intention to chuck the whole thing in. But then I thought, this would be depriving myself of something amazing. Like you said, you’ve come a long, long way. It would be sad to go back. Our lungs may work against us, but they can’t crush our spirit!

    Love the new look, btw.

    • I used to be a swimmer in high school but quit because it was too difficult and too hard on my breathing. Having more free time definitely helped me focus more on my studies, but I think it put me into bad habits. By the time I went away to college, I hardly exercised and, hence, gained a lot of weight! We may be slow, but speed is just a number! Three+ miles -at 10’00” -11’00” (maybe one day SUB-TEN!) is still more than most people do. I ran tonight and every 10 minutes repeated to myself: “I am capable. I can do it, and I will.” And tonight’s run actually came pretty easy, albeit it still redfaced and sweaty. 🙂

      You are so right. There is absolutely no way we can go back. 🙂 You will be ready to crush that half by end of summer!

      Thanks. I am testing out the new format, and I like it better than the old theme. Some day I’ll work on creating a custom header! I’ve thought about changing the blog name too but I’m not creative enough to come up with a new title.

  4. “I decided on my drive to work this morning that I’m going to really focus on turning negatives into positives and let go of what I can’t control. I will concentrate on this for a week.”

    I’m so proud of you! As I’ve gotten older, I’ve really come to embrace a positive outlook and the fact that my thoughts, emotions, words, behaviors, and actions are entirely the result of my own choices and within my control (and, frankly, about the only things that I can control!). It’s a powerful realization and, while I’m certainly not perfect, I’m constantly striving to be a wonderful work in progress! 😉 I’m always excited when I see someone I care about also embracing that realization and aiming for a more positive perspective. You absolutely deserve it and all the benefits it will bring to you!

    If you haven’t seen this post on FB or elsewhere, you might like it as well. Great list, reading it has had quite an impact on me: http://www.purposefairy.com/3308/15-things-you-should-give-up-in-order-to-be-happy/

    Let me know if you’re on FB, btw… xoxo

  5. I have asthma too! Fortunately I do not have allergies, mine is triggered more by weather currents – so, oddly, when the first beautiful spring days come along and I’m jonesing to run…the lungs shut down. I’ve found that for the most part if I use my rescue inhaler a couple times prior to running – once about 30 minutes before and once 15 minutes before, and start slow, it will usually help; my lungs will gradually settle down. In that pollen – which we’ve been having here, too – that might not work for you tho. Best of luck!
    Yes, totally having trouble with being positive right now with a serious family illness and some cranking about in the marriage. For me one thing is that I’ve not been having my spiritual time in the morning and am trying to refocus on that, too.
    And stick with that positivity! http://rundogcat.me/2012/02/29/positively-positive/
    Best of luck! Thinking of you today!

    • So sorry to hear about all the things going on with you right now! Life likes to throw us loops to see what we’re made of sometimes, doesn’t it? What a jerk. Make time for you and focus on the positive!

      My lungs are getting stronger. I could hardly run 1/4 of a mile before during allergy season, so I know it’ll take time but I will get there eventually. I just have to adapt physically and mentally!

Leave a Reply

