Friday’s Focus On: Goals

I had some trouble trying to think of a topic for this week’s focus blog, so I turned my friend Lauren for suggestions.  She ran her first half marathon last weekend, so it was only fitting that she suggested I blog about my goals since we were talking about her goals for the half.

I think around my age, most people start thinking about their long term goals — what they want to do with their lives and what they want to get out of it.  For some people, their goals are focused around fitness and others are career driven.  For me, it’s important for my goals to be well-rounded.  Who says you can’t do it all?

Last year my husband Rich made me write down my goals and timeline for when I hope to achieve them.  Thinking back, I have no idea what the goals were that I wrote down.  Doh.  I think I’ll add “Remember my goals” to my list of goals.  But seriously, what is the point of goals if you never have them in mind, even in the very back of your mind where they can collect dust and cobwebs?  At least they’re still there.  Shouldn’t you be striving to be better today than you were yesterday, no matter what is it you are striving to get better at?  You may not always succeed that day, but at least you’re trying and not quiting.

I can’t find the piece of paper with my goals written on it (some exercise that was), so I’ll write them down here.  These are things I hope to accomplish one day.  Hopefully I won’t lose this list somewhere on the interweb….

  • Run a sub-30 minute 5K
  • Run sub-1:00 10K
  • Run a half marathon
  • Do a sprint triathlon — I do like swimming and biking too, after all.
  • Have two or three kids, two dogs, and a house with a backyard and a fence
  • Be a good parent
  • Be happy in my family life and my career, whatever it is I end up doing
  • Volunteer at an animal shelter
  • Go back to school to get my MBA
  • Get my photography certificate
  • Travel to every continent in the world, including Antarctica

Writing those down makes me feel accomplished and brings me one step closer to achieving them!  I think all of those things are reasonable and achievable, don’t you?

What are some of your short term and long term goals?

One thought on “Friday’s Focus On: Goals

  1. Pingback: Juneathon – Day 12 « cutedogsandhugs

Leave a Reply

