Juneathon – Day 2


See the activity on RunSaturday

Type: Run – Race
Duration: 0:32:14
Distance: 3.11 mi

Day 2 of Juneathon consisted of the PRoNE 5K race benefitting the Pug Rescue Organization of New England. I plan on writing a longer race recap later in the week, so here is a short work of my workout for the day. The weather forecast for the day called for rain, downpours at times, and 20 mph winds.

When we arrived around 8am, the rain was somewhere between a drizzle and a downpour.  Shortly before the race started, there was a fellow jogging blogger sighting — Tracey from Stride & Joy!  We started chatting (ah, conversations come so easily when chatting with Aussies) and decided to run the race together since we have a similar pace.

About 1/2 a mile into our run, the rain started to get heavier and only got worse from there.  Then came the wind.  Oh Lord, the wind.  By the time we got to the Castle Island Jetty, the winds were fierce!  Running against 20mph headwinds was, um, challenging to say the least.  At one stage, I thought my bib was going to blow right off and take me with it.

All and all, despite the weather conditions, the race was a good one.  There were loads of runners who came out to run in the rain in support of our stumpy friends, the pugs.  There was even the occasional jean jogger sighting (try not to imagine the post-run chafing), and I made a new friend!

Now I’m back in my PJs watching CSI and trying to figure out what I want to eat, besides everything.

How did day 2 of Juneathon go for you?

2 thoughts on “Juneathon – Day 2

  1. Now that I am nice and warm and cozy, I can’t believe we did it! I was hanging on to my bib at that point on the jetty as I really did think it was going to blow away. I made a note of my number just in case! SO great to meet you guys. Would love to run/hang out again sometime, perhaps when we’re not all dripping wet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

