Juneathon – Day 9

Day 8 of Juneathon consisted of a long bike ride and a plank.

Rich and I kind of had a lazy start to the day and he had some study to do, so by the time he had some time to do exercise with me, it was a little too late and hot in the day to go for a run. We decided to do the next beat thing: Go for a somewhat long bike ride!

I’m embarrassed to admit that we haven’t gotten on our bikes since September. I normally opt for a run because it burns more calories in an hour and we live in a busy area, so drivers are not always kind to cyclists on the road. After today, there’s no way we can let our bikes collect dust like that again!

I first found out about Nut Island through Sarah’s blog, My Monotonous Life.

I mapped the route out on GoogleMaps, and it said it was about 6.4 miles there.  We’d never been there before, or even knew it existed despite living here for four years, so we decided to go for it.  It was a perfect day for a bike ride, especially one that took us along the beach, so we head out around 4pm for our adventure.

The majority of the route was flat and scenic with some sporadic steep hills the closer we got to Nut Island.  Luckily they didn’t last very long, but I was proud of myself because I didn’t get off my bike to walk up any of them.  Last year, I had to stop and rest twice just on flat road and we didn’t go nearly as far as we did yesterday, maybe a little more than 1/2 of the way.  What a difference a year made in my fitness level!

We made it!

We ended up riding for a little over 1 1/4 hours.  As we looked at the view over Quincy Bay, we were proud that we made it all the way to the other side of the way!  It was a fun trip with a good mix of easy and tough parts, and is definitely going to be added to our weekly workouts.

We rode all the way around the bay and then some.

I’m so glad we went and explored a new part of our neighborhood, which we don’t do nearly frequent enough.  We got to spend quality time together, enjoy the beautiful day, and also get a workout in all at the same time.  Not much can get better than that! (OK, I lied. There are some things but it’s still pretty awesome.)

On a less exciting note, today’s plank was only 1:00.  It was also 2 in the morning and I didn’t care much to plank, but I did it and that was it.

Have you ever explored a new old part of your neighborhood?

4 thoughts on “Juneathon – Day 9

  1. I’m so glad you did this – and enjoyed it! It’s such a beautiful little place, and perfect for getting in a decent ride/workout without going too overboard. Props to you for not walking any of those hills – that last one up Sea St nearly killed me, I gave up and walked not even a quarter of the way up!

Leave a Reply

