Juneathon – Day 12

Today was day 12 of Juneathon. Almost half way there!  Today’s workout consisted of a long run, a dog walk, and a plank.

See the activity on RunSaturday

Type: Run – Intervals
Duration: 0:54:08
Distance: 4.92 mi

Although I was feeling really tired tonight, I knew that a good run would wake me up a little so we decided to do Week 1 Day 2 of the Bridge to 10K training program, which consists of a 5-minute warm up, 10:1 run/walk intervals, then a 5-minute cool down. It was a perfect night for a run: around 65 degrees, slightly windy, and overcast. I wanted to take it nice and easy with our planned intervals, but that kind of went out the window in the second half of the run like it usually does when I run with Rich. He knows how to push me. =)

After our third interval, I was ready to throw in the towel because I was really out of breath (high pollen count today) and I was getting terrible side stitches.  Rich was all for heading home, but I decided to heck with it and finished the last interval.  I was soo tired and out of breath, but it was worth it.  I ran my fastest yet, which is always exciting!

Our overall pace was 11:00 with a run pace of 9:47, which is quite speedy for me. Wooo!  No wonder I was out of breath.

Towards the end of our run, we ran into our friend Nikki who volunteer dog walks two pitties in Dorchester.  We finished up our run and met her around the park loop for a short dog walk.

See the activity on RunSaturday

Type: Walk – General
Duration: 0:40:00
Distance: 1.66 mi

Comet and Sergeant Stubby are two of the sweetest dogs I have ever met. Tonto skipped out on our walk today because he hurt his paw nail the other day and we’re trying to allow his nail to heal/grow a little before we take him out for another long walk. We didn’t do our usual long walk with them (2 loops around the park) since Rich and I had already been gone for an hour, but it was still good to spend time with such laid back pups!

A couple of times during our walk, Stubby decided to stop dead in his tracks and lay down in the grass.  I guess he was tired!

“I need to take a breather!”

It’s honestly a shame that pit bulls have such bad reputations. There are always a few people who steer clear of us when we walk the pitties, but there’s really no reason to do that. Tonight one mother told her kids to “get away from those dogs immediately” when she heard they were pit bulls. Just another uninformed human!

Nikki and Rich walking Sergeant Stubby (foreground) and Comet (background)

At the end of our walk, we were chatting away when Sergeant Stubby stopped dead in his tracks, but this time right in front of me in the footpath, and I took a digger!! Luckily I stuck my hands out as I fell forward (weren’t we taught not to do that?) and fell on my hands rather than my face.  The first thought on my mind was “I really hope I didn’t break my phone.” Hmm… I should probably get my priorities in order.  After that I thought, “Did I hit my face?” OK, I should probably have that order reversed.  I was just relieved to not have hurt my legs!

Luckily I left relatively unscathed except for a gash in my hand, but I’ll spare you the photos because it looked a lot worse than it actually is.  I expect my hands will be a little sore tomorrow, but at least it wasn’t worse.  I even did a plank despite my injured hand – 1:42

Today was a really good day.  With all the rain we’ve had lately, I appreciate every day of rain-free days we have and make the most of the chance to get outside and moving.

Have you ever taken a digger?  Did you come out unscathed?

*****

On a side note, my work is hosting their annual triathlon in which advisors and employees are invited to participate.  There is both an Olympic length event and a sprint length.  Rich decided he’s going to do the sprint tri (750M swim / 20K bike / 5K run) and I’ve been thinking pretty seriously about training for it with him.  If you read my goals post from a couple weeks ago, completing a sprint tri is on my list of life goals.  This may be a good chance for me to tick this off my list!  This would be a good first tri for me because it’s capped at 50 participants and is held on private property down the Cape.

However, the event is daunting.  I have no doubt that I can run a 5K, bike a 20K, and swim almost half a mile.  The fact that it’s all three events in one day, one after the other, is the part that’s freaking me out.  I have confidence that I’d be able to swim and then bike, but will I have the energy to run after all of this?  I guess that’s what training is for.

I’m going to sign up tomorrow.  What do I have to lose?  I have no goals except to finish, and I don’t care if I have to stop at some points to take a breather.  There’s absolutely no shame in that.  What I look forward to is the sense of accomplishment I’ll have when I finish, and I will finish.

Have you ever completed a triathlon? Do you have any advice?

6 thoughts on “Juneathon – Day 12

  1. Pingback: Triathlon Training: Week #1 « cutedogsandhugs

  2. Pingback: Juneathon – Day 13 « cutedogsandhugs

  3. Haven’t taken a digger *yet* while running, but I feel like my old-man dog, Benny, is always under foot. I’m tripping over him all the time at home. Even if I try to dodge him, he dodges the same way – *every* time! 😉 Best of luck with the tri!

  4. I’ve never heard it called that, but I’m sure I’ve fallen before! The worst I can recall is once in around my freshman year of high school when for some reason I thought it would be a good idea to let go of my 10 speed’s handlebars while I was pedaling standing up. That was a major wipe-out with lots of scrapes along one whole side of my body. Ouchie!

    Sending healing vibes to your poor hand. I forgot to do a plank again yesterday. I need to figure out how to remember it!

Leave a Reply

