Juneathon – Day 15

I’m sure everyone is sick of these posts by now but since I’m already halfway there, I’m not gonna stop now!

Today’s workout consisted of a short run and a 1:10 plank. Shouldn’t my plank times be getting better and not one step forward then two back?

See the activity on RunSaturday

Type: Run – General
Duration: 0:30:14
Distance: 2.50 mi

Not much to report on today. Today’s run was okay. We started off with a 6 minute warm-up, ran for about 20 minutes, then cooled down for another five. It was yet another short run, which I’ve really been into lately apparently… Our stomachs were feeling weird after eating too much pizza for lunch so we only did one loop around the park. Maybe it was heartburn? Or something….

We ran under a 10:00 minute mile pace for the entire 20 minutes, which would explain why my lungs were not my friend tonight. I haven’t run for more than 20 minutes since my last 5K a couple of weeks ago because I’ve been doing some interval training but I can tell I’m getting faster. It used to be difficult for me to manage a 10:15 pace for 20 minutes a couple months ago. Progress, my friend, progress.

I have a 3.5 mile race as part of the Corporate Challenge in about a month, so I should probably work on my endurance/distance a bit more so that I can actually finish it running. My friend who ran the race last year since that there wasn’t much room to run though because the event is so packed, so maybe my lack of endurance will be a moot point. Or maybe it’ll rain that day and I won’t have an asthma flare up and will be a-okay!

What endurance training tips do you have for me?

4 thoughts on “Juneathon – Day 15

  1. Saturday and Sunday are the best days to work on your endurance, mainly because you are supposed to be rested and not work those days. Building up endurance can be tedious, just focus on the distance and not on the speed. What I usually do is I would go from point A to point B, making sure point B is no where close to point A and there are no shortcuts, so you are forced to come back the same way and workout over the same distance. To make my point a little clear, if you run in circles it’s easier to say I had enough and stop when you started, setting your return point a couple of miles aways doesn’t give you that chance.
    Enjoy your run!

    • You’re right. Normally I run the same 1.5 mile loop twice, so I think I need to find a new place to run. There’s a bike/walking path towards the right of the split (go left to the park, right to the bike path) that’s 2.5 miles one way. I’ll try that one next time I set out for a long run! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

