Friday’s Focus On: Memorial Day in the Nation’s Capital {Travel Series}

If you have never been in Washington DC during a holiday like Memorial Day, 4th of July, or Veteran’s Day, just do it. Even if you’re not from the States (like my husband), you can’t help but be humbled and moved by the experience.

Rich and I traveled to DC in May for Memorial Day weekend.  The last time I was in DC was over ten years ago, which was also before 9/11 happened.  A lot has changed, but a lot has also stayed the same.  Although I did all the sight seeing last time I was there, I’m glad I went again when I was a little older so that I could appreciate things a bit more.  It was humbling to see all the veterans paying their respects to the fallen soldiers, some of which were their friends, and many had come a long way for this particular weekend.

We did a lot of walking that weekend and were even able to fit in a short run.  My friend Nancy who lives in the area even said she was impressed with how much we saw in such a short amount of time.  It took a lot of planning and scheduling because there were certain things I didn’t want to miss, and although the itinerary I planned probably came off a little crazy to Rich, we saw everything we wanted to see in two and a half days.

We had planned on using the Old Town Trolley to get around, but with the business of the weekend and traffic around the National Mall, we ended up mostly walking and taking some cabs.  It was a really good way of seeing all the sights, even just in passing, and it was well worth the back and foot soreness at the end of our weekend.

Just to name a few (or several), we saw the Arlington Cemetary, Lincoln Memorial, Jefferson Memorial, WWII and Vietnam/Korean War Memorials, Washington Monument, The White House, the National Cathedral, and the US Supreme Court.  For museums, we visited the Newseum (my favorite), National Air and Space Museum, the National Gallery of Art, and the National Museum of Natural History.  We didn’t get to spend a ton of time in every place, but we got a good glimpse.

Rather than go into detail of everything we saw, I’ll just share some of the photos I took over the weekend.  I took over 300 and while not every one of them made the cut for this post, I think it summarizes the weekend pretty well.  It’s been awhile since I broke out my DSLR and had a field day with my photography, and I realized how much I’ve really missed.

I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed taking them!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Friday’s Focus On: Memorial Day in the Nation’s Capital {Travel Series}

  1. Pingback: Friday’s Focus On: Fiji {Travel Series} « cutedogsandhugs

  2. Pingback: Memorial Day “Aftermath” « Specializing in the Impossible

  3. I loved seeing your pictures! I went to college in DC and am lucky to still have friends/family in the area, so I get to spend a lot of time there.

    The FDR memorial is hands down my favorite of the presidential memorials/monuments, it is so well done! The Korean War Memorial – I’ll never forget the first time I saw that…it was at night, and it was amazingly haunting. I love the Newseum, too, although I haven’t been in 10+ years, which was when it first opened and it was over the river in Arlington. I’ve heard great things about the new location, but I haven’t made it there yet.

    Did you find the Einstein Monument?? He’s a little hidden away, but he’s across Constitution from the the Vietnam Memorial – he’s one of my favorites!

    • I think it was my favorite too! It was a lot larger than I expected but it was very peaceful and not crowded at all like the others. I think people tend to forget it’s there! The updated Newseum is awesome. I highly recommend you go! I didn’t know there was an Einstein monument… next time. =)

Leave a Reply

