Juneathon – Day 19

Day 19 of Juneathon consisted of a walk at lunch, a short run after work, and a 1:00 plank.

See the activity on RunSaturday

Type: Walking – General
Duration: 0:32:07
Distance: 1.68 mi

My walk at lunch was along the same route as yesterday’s walk, but I did an extra half a loop because I walked a little faster than yesterday. It was a beautiful day, not too hot with a very slight breeze.  There were people canoeing/kayaking on the river today.  You might be able to see them in the picture if you look really close.

Same river as yesterday, just a slightly different view.

See the activity on RunSaturday

Type: Run – General
Duration: 17:11:00
Distance: 1.69 mi

The first day of triathlon training called for a 15 minute run.  I warmed up for 2 minutes before setting out for 15 minutes of running.  I was very happy with my splits today.  (Not sure when I changed it, but my Garmin tracked 0.5 mile splits rather than 1.0 mile.)

1 00:05:30 0.5 mi 10:59
2 00:04:56 0.5 mi 09:52
3 00:04:57 0.5 mi 09:54
4 00:01:50 0.2 mi 09:32

I don’t know what it is about short runs, but I always feel the need to run them at a speedy pace.  I’ve gotten into the bad habit of playing “beat the clock” rather than “just do it and feel good.”  Since it was only meant to be a short run today, I was okay with being a speed demon (by my standards) but Thursday will be a 30 minute run instead of swimming so I need to pace myself better.  I’ll bring my iPhone to track my distance (announced at the end of the run) but no Garmin, so I won’t know my pace.  I’m just going to run and go by how my body feels.  Start off easy and just go with it.  No racing the clock on Thursday!

My plank was a bit of a fail so I’ll try another one before bed and see how I go.

How was your Tuesday workout?

Leave a Reply

