What I Ate Wednesday

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Happy WIAW! Guess what happened today?  I remembered to take photos of all my food!

OK, not really but I do have a picture of (almost) everything.  When said pictures were taken, I will not tell…

First off: Breakfast!  The usual M-Th breakfast.  Thomas’ Light english muffin with peanut butter and a banana.  Peanut butter makes me smile.  I know I should probably try something healthier like sunflower butter or almond butter or some crap like that, but I like peanut butter so why mess with a good thing?  I don’t dive in head first, although sometimes I want to, so what’s the harm?

I’ve been meaning to add flax seeds to this to get an extra healthy oil in, but I keep forgetting.  Next week I’ll make an effort to try to remember.

Breakfast: 6 P+

Next up is lunch:  Turkey sandwich with a little bit of light mayo, dijon mustard, and lettuce on homemade wheat bread.  I’ve been trying to get in a better habit of making a loaf in the bread machine because it’s so much cheaper than buying wraps at home.  The wraps we buy are 2 PointsPlus and two pieces of bread are 5 PointsPlus, but the bread definitely helps keep me full for longer.  The bread also has much more flavor, so it’s well worth the extra Points.

Making bread from scratch is also another chance to add in some flax seeds for some added healthy oils to my diet. 🙂  I forgot to add in a couple of teaspoons for this loaf though.  Boo… next time.

If anyone has a bread machine and wants the recipe, I can post it on the good ol’ blog for you.  It’s easy and delicious as long as you like honey.

Lunch: 8 P+

Moving onto snacks…  Carrots and a little bit of hummus, about 10 pretzel M&M’s, a light cheese stick, and 1/4 of Richie’s Italian Ice (not pictured).

The first time I had the pretzel M&M’s, they had just come out and I thought they had no flavor.  Vowed to never eat them again.  Until I saw them on sale at CVS and I also had a $1.50 manufacturers coupon on M&Ms.  Obviously I had to buy them because crappy cheap chocolate is still better than no chocolate.  Each nugget is bigger, like the size of a peanut M&M, so there’s a lot more pretzel and chocolate than I remember which means more flavor.  They may have replaced peanut M&M’s as my new favorite…

Hide yo’ kids, hide yo’ wife, and hide yo’ bag of pretzel M&M’s.

Snacks: 5 P+

Lastly is dinner.  The last few nights I’ve been eating the same thing: steak and part of a baked potato, but I was getting sick of it.  I used to be able to eat steak or red meat more days of the week than not, but the last couple of months we’ve been eating more poultry (i.e. chicken or turkey) and I just can’t stomach eating red meat more than once or twice a week now.  It doesn’t make me ill or anything, but it makes my guts feel weird and bloated.  There’s a reason they tell you now to have red meat more than once or twice a week.  It does strange things to your body…  We all know that isn’t fun or attractive.  (Sorry, Rich. Staying away from the red meat for a little while.)

I decided to mix things up and make a little mini pizza on an english muffin with a small serving of rotisserie chicken on the side (store-bought, I obviously am not talented enough to make that sort of things myself) and a side salad with balsamic vinaigrette.  I also ate a 100-calorie pack of Wholly Guacamole (not pictured) because I can and I really wanted it.

Sounds like a lot of food, but it actually wasn’t too bad Points wise, given the amount of food I ate.

Dinner: 12 P+

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Daily Points [DP] + Activity Points [AP] – Points Eaten [PE] = Net

29 DP + 4 AP – 31 PE = 2 P+ left over

What’s your favorite snack food?  Do you ever get hit with random weird cravings?

7 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. I put chia seeds on my PB toast and or PB on a rice cake sometimes, too. Flax is a good idea.

    For snacks, I like apples with cinnamon, PB banana “sandwiches” (slice banana in half lengthwise, fill with crunchy PB, put halves back together and then slice into small circles), crackers with laughing cow or, lately, a bit of this artichoke jalapeno dip I got at costco (it’s only 1 P+ for 1 tbsp, and 1 P+ for 7 reduced fat wheat thins, so for 2 P+ I get a nice little salty crunchy fix.

    I definitely get random weird cravings. It’s fun trying to come up with healthy ways to satisfy them!

    I used to love pretzel M&Ms. Since I don’t eat chocolate anymore, I had to bid adieu to them and my fave M&Ms, peanut butter. I did find a bag of (I think limited edition) white chocolate M&Ms at Target around Easter time, and they’re okay. Very buttery tasting. They satisfy a sweet tooth on occasion. It’s hard to calculate the P+ for just a few because the serving size is 1/4 cup and I definitely don’t eat THAT many!

    • I love the Laughing Cow cheeses! I have one for a snack later and will add it to a few whole grain biscuits. Yummy! The last 2 days I’ve been having a craving for wings, so Rich is going to take me to get some tomorrow for lunch or dinner. 🙂

      • Yum! Now *I’m* craving wings! 😉 They are good once in a while. I tend to crave burgers more, and usually go out for them somewhere once every week or two as a treat.

  2. I never thought to sprinkle flax on my pb toast – great idea!

    My hubby is allergic to poultry, so I try to order it (that and seafood) every time we go out. Or I make it when he’s not home.

    I would say that my favorite snack food is cheese. But today, I realized how much I rely on my one piece of Dove Dark Chocolate per day. Why, you ask? Because I left it at home. Now I’m sipping on my coffee without that one piece of chocolate-y goodness. *Sigh*

    • I sprinkled some flax on my sandwich for lunch too. The good thing is you can’t taste it, so you can pretty much add it to anything. I normally have a piece of dark chocolate after dinner every day. Maybe you can scour the office for some choco?

  3. Nice day! I’ve been straying from my points and having a hard time getting back to it, so perhaps a WIAW is a good idea for me too! And I’m also impressed that you can buy the bag of M&Ms and still portion them out! I do NOT have that sort of self control! 😛

    • Yes, do it! I tend to forget about WIAW because I haven’t been doing them for very long so I forget to take pictures. I’m impressed with myself and the M&Ms. too 🙂 I portioned some out, put the bag in the cupboard, and close the door. Out of sight out of mind. It works sometimes but not always!

Leave a Reply

