Tri Training: Week 2 Update and Week 3 Schedule

Another late update to my triathlon training… I’m about halfway through week 3 and am only updating my week 2 progress now.  Let’s hope this doesn’t become a pattern, but it might!

I’ll tick off week 2 of triathlon training as a success in my book.  I’m enjoying it so far and while it isn’t absolutely crushing my body (not that I really want it to), I’m feeling challenged.  Some days are easier than others, but no workout is what I would consider a breezy walk in the park.  In fact, this week I found that the easier workouts actually felt harder, which I think may have been due to the hot, sticky weather or my food choices throughout the day.  I’m still not positive on why, but I try not to dwell on it but instead think of how much stronger my body is getting.

Anyway, here are the results from the week.  The format is PLAN / ACTUAL:

  •     Mon:  OFF  /  Rode 5.5 miles (to make up for missing a ride Sunday)
  •     Tue:   Weights 20 minutes, run 15 minutes / Ran 16 minutes; didn’t do weights
  •      Wed:  Bike 6 miles / Rode 6.5 miles
  • ×     Thu:   Weights 20 minutes / Didn’t do weights (had a rehearsal dinner till really late)
  •      Fri:     OFF / Kettlebell weights for 20 minutes (to make up for Thursday)
  •      Sat:     Run 20 minutes / Ran for 20 minutes
  • ×     Sun:    Bike 8 miles / Didn’t bike, just walked around Boston before a movie

I can’t wait for the pool to open up again so that we can sign up and get swimming.  I’m itching for a swim.  Is that weird? I have definitely been slacking with the weight training to replace swimming, and I really need to focus on that because strength training helps tremendously with any other cardio you do. While doing weights on Friday, I could tell that I’ve already lost some upper body strength!

Here’s my game plan for week 3 training:

  • Mon:  OFF
  • Tue:  Weights 20 minutes, run 20 minutes
  • Wed:  Bike 6 miles
  • Thu:  Weights 20 minutes, walk briskly 30 minutes
  • Fri:  OFF
  • Sat:  Run 30 minutes
  • Sun:  Bike 10 miles

What’s your favorite way to sweat?
[Do I need to specify?  PG responses only =) ]

2 thoughts on “Tri Training: Week 2 Update and Week 3 Schedule

  1. Awesome! My favorite way to sweat? I don’t like sweating… But I guess right now it would be running because I actually *feel* like I’ve accomplished something. Burn about 450 calories for 45 minutes of running, but 750 for golfing 9 holes carrying my clubs. However, I don’t *feel* like I’ve burned that much after golfing. My HRM amazes me every time!

  2. I love strength training, so I’m more inclined to skip cardio! That said, I’m almost done with week 4 of my run/walk training for the Warrior Dash. Good job on the tri training!

Leave a Reply

