What I Ate Wednesday #12

I’m happy to report that the triathlon is officially over, and I survived! I completed all three events and am feeling really accomplished. I wasn’t the fastest but I did what I set out to do and that was to just finish. But, that’s another story for another time (race recap to come).

I am not happy to report, however, that my eating was wayyyyyy out of control last weekend. The scale’s showing I’m up two pounds, but hopefully I can undo some of that damage this week by focusing on quality of foods I’m eating and portion control. You know… back to the basics. I really don’t want to fall out of good habits this month!

Unfortunately I don’t have a ton of photos from this past week to share on this wonderful Wednesday. It was such a busy week that I just forgot to take photos. (Back to the same old excuses again.) I do have a few, but the quality is questionable. At least they don’t have the horrific yellow glow from my terrible photo editing last week.

[BREAKFAST]

This week I was back to my usual breakfast: a light English muffin with peanut butter and a banana. I ran out of english muffins last week so it had been a week or so since I had my favorite breakfast. I should probably think about having something different for my morning meal, but why mess with a good thing? Plus, I’m grumpy when I don’t get my daily dose of peanut butter.

[LUNCH]


After a full weekend of eating garbage, I had a craving for a huge salad on Monday so I made one at home using some leftover barbecue chicken from the post-triathlon barbecue on Sunday. I added half of a red pepper, some goat cheese, English cucumber, and dried cranberries with some Newman’s Own Light Honey Mustard dressing.

I swear by Newman’s Own salad dressings. My favorites are Raspberry Walnut, Balsamic Vinegar Vinaigrette, Honey Mustard — all light versions. The proceeds from all Newman’s Own products go to charity, which is another reason to support such a yummy product.

Today for lunch I had a turkey and ham sandwich on a sandwich thing with a little bit of mayo, dijon mustard, and flax seeds. I’ve found that flax seeds are a great way to get in your oils for the day, which helps keep you fuller for longer. (HAH. Get it. Kind of made a funny right there.) Also, adding just a tsp of condiments like mustard or mayo can add a lot of flavor to a plain sandwich.

[DINNER]

Dinner last night was a mish-mash of food in the fridge. I made salmon using homemade teriyaki sauce and paired it with some leftover noodles and fried rice from the last couple nights’ dinners. So yummy. I’ll definitely be adding that teriyaki sauce recipe to my list and will someday add it to the recipes on this blog when I decide to get more serious about it.

[SNACKS]

Last week, I received my first Love With Food box. LWF is essentially a cheap and easy way to sample various new gourmet food products that you normally may not try. It costs only $10 a month (plus $2 for shipping) and you get a heap of new grub to eat!

This week for snacks I had the Barney’s almond butter and the tropical blend dried fruit. They were both yummy! I’m going to try the chocolate coffee blend today too. Yummo!

That’s my weekly sampling of eats!

This week, I’m going to reel in my ferocious appetite since I may not be working out as much now that the tri is over. Since I’m not training for anything at the moment, it’s going to be even more important that I eat well and right!

What did you eat this week?

Want to join in on the WIAW fun? Visit Jenn at Peas & Crayons for more info!

14 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #12

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #17 + Adjustments! | cutedogsandhugs

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #13 + New Eats | cutedogsandhugs

Leave a Reply

