What I Ate Wednesday #13 + New Eats

Soooo… Last week turned into a free-for-all in terms of foods and hardly-any-at-all on the exercise front. I decided to give myself a week off from caring much about either and just did what I wanted and ate what I wanted. Rich and I worked hard the last 2.5 months, and we deserved to be piggy sloths for a week. That means I have some interesting photos for this week’s WIAW!

Let’s pretend that I practiced good eating habits this week… I won’t lie; my diet was not very balanced, and my tummy is paying for it. Too much dairy. Too much fat. Not enough fruit and veggies. My stomach was bloated to the max yesterday and it’s finally starting to get back to normal after a couple of days of healthier eating. My body pays when I’m not good to it!

The only upside to our bingeing (besides satisfied taste buds) is that we tried a few new eateries and found some good ones. There’ll be more on that later. I also tried something different for breakfast, so I’ll deem this week the week of new eats!

[BREAKFAST]

(L) Every Friday, I start my work day off right with a bagel and smoked salmon cream cheese, coffee, and a couple slivers of cheese. Our lunch so graciously caters Bagel Friday every week for our offices in Waltham, MA and San Diego, CA. I’ve worked from home a couple of Fridays in the past and it just wasn’t the same without my bagel. My day had a big old hole in the middle of it, just like my non-existent bagel.

(R) This morning, I decided to try something different for breakfast and had my Greek yogurt with the San Franola granola I received in my Love With Food box a few weeks ago. Of course I had to have my daily peanut butter fix, so I threw a big glop on top and mixed everything together into one big mess. It was yummy and kept me full till lunch, but I don’t think I’d have it every day. I love my PB & banana English muffin combo too much.

[LUNCH]

(T-L) Friday night, we had a hankering for pizza and decided to try a local pizza joint that we’d never been to before, Schoolhouse Pizza. We’ve tried a bunch of different pizza places in our city in the past and, with the exception of Upper Crust (a chain), we haven’t had much luck. We’ve found the crust was either too doughy , too tough, falls apart, or wasn’t crispy enough. Others were flavorless, too cheesy, or not enough cheese. We wanted the perfect slice… Is that too  much to ask?!

Well, I think we may have found it or something pretty darn close to it. All of their menu selections are named around the school house theme (goes with the name… duh), and they have a huge variety of specialty pizzas. They also have really tasty “dough-knots” which are… yes, knots of dough. We tried the rosemary and garlic and were not disappointed.

(B-L) Since this was our first free weekend in a while, we decided to do something different and fun by going to the New England Food Truck Festival at Suffolk Downs in East Boston. It was nice way to spend the afternoon. Some fun in the sun while eating good food and watching the horse races? Yes, please! We sampled from so many different trucks that I can’t remember all the names, but the ones to remember were Bon Me, Mei Mei Street Kitchen, Roxy’s Grilled Cheese (of The Great Food Truck Race fame), and The Chicken & Rice Guys. I just realized that most of those trucks are run by Asians. Gotta support my fellow Asian-Americans I guess. My photos are of MMSK’s truck, C&RG’s lamb plate, and Roxy’s bacon and avocado grilled cheese. If your mouth isn’t watering by now, you’re not human.

(R) Lunch today was a roast beef and veggie wrap with some Campbell’s butternut squash soup. Nothing crazy, but as the day’s get colder, I start to crave soup!

[DINNER]

On Monday, I cooked up a batch of Southwestern Stuffed Peppers to eat for dinner for the better part of the week. This is the second time I’ve made this recipe and it turned out much better the second time around. I replaced black beans with pinto beans last time (it’s all I had in the house) and they were under cooked  I cooked them as instructed this time and they were still a little under cooked but not nearly as much as last time. It’s funny how stuff actually cooks properly when you follow the directions………

[SNACKS]

Back to my baby carrots and hummus snack! It’s been so long since we last met. I’ve missed you. Let’s not wait so long to be together again, okay? PS – Sorry that the hummus looks like turd. Don’t know what that’s about.

That’s my weekly sampling of eats!

I promise that I’ll actually focus on eating better this week. My belly was angry at me for not treating it right. I’ll also give my tummy some extra love by getting back to doing some core work during strength training. And maybe I’ll indulge in some wine too. It’s all about balance, right?

What did you eat this week?

[Want to join in on the WIAW fun? Visit Jenn at Peas & Crayons for more info!]

12 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #13 + New Eats

  1. Pingback: Ohhh Yeah! « Doggy's Style

    • It’s so good! And really easy. The recipe calls for 2 cups of rice, but I only use 1 cup and there’s always leftover rice, so I just make a little rice casserole with the leftover rice mix. I suggest cooking less than 1 cup unless you want to be eating rice for a week. Haha

      • One day old rice is the best to use if you ever make fried rice, if you ever have leftovers and don’t know what to do with it. Tonto’s loves rice too, although it gets stuck in his beard when it’s long. Heh

      • We don’t make it very often. I don’t know why. It’s so easy and not very time consuming. I think it’s the fact that we have to actually cook the rice and that can take awhile in the cooker. Haha I like to add Chinese sausage or Chinese BBQ pork (even turkey kielbasa), peas, carrots, onion, and egg. Nommmm. I’m hungry.

Leave a Reply

