Accountability and Training

This probably won’t come as a surprise to anyone, but I’ve seriously slacked on exercising and eating well since my triathlon in mid-September. I’ve exercised a max of two, maybe three, times a week and eaten a boat load of garbage. This is a huge difference from when I was exercising five to six days a week and eating mindfully.

It probably wouldn’t surprise anyone to know that, as a result, I’ve gained “a couple” of pounds since then. [I put that phrase in quotes because the actual number was looking scary this morning. Talk about a wake up call.] Everyone keeps reminding me I worked hard, so I deserve a break. This is true, but I think two weeks is enough for me, especially when one (me) gains multiple pounds in a short amount of time.

When I was training, I had an “excuse” to eat more than usual because I was burning off a lot of calories. I hit my lowest weight towards the end of training, and I was feeling really, really healthy. Now that I’m not training, I’m gaining weight, feeling bloated 90% of the time, and experiencing general lethargy and absent-mindedness.

Example: This morning, I packed some blueberries to go with my lunch and I forgot to put the lid on the Tupperware when I brought it to work. Smooshed blueberries everywhere in my lunch bag. I obviously chalk this forgetfulness up to not working out enough. When the body’s awake, the mind is awake, right?

Since I have my first 5 mile race in November, I really need to get back on the exercise wagon if I don’t want to a) die or b) come in last. So, to keep me accountable and after some inspiration from Katy, I’m going to start posting my weekly training/exercise updates to my blog. It’ll be short and sweet. It’ll also be good motivation to keep exercising while I’m overseasin a couple of weeks.

So here goes:

BRIDGE TO 10K, WEEK 1

Plan

  • Monday: DOR (gotta start off the week with a rest day)
  • Tuesday: Run 10 mins, walk 1 min X 4 sets (+ 5 min warm up and cool down)
  • Wednesday: Kettlebell workout
  • Thursday: Run 10 mins, walk 1 min X 4 sets (+ 5 min warm up and cool down)
  • Friday: DOR
  • Saturday: Run 10 mins, walk 1 min X 4 sets (+ 5 min warm up and cool down)
  • Sunday: Swim

I’ll post my updates on Sundays since I usually have more free time on that day. If you don’t hear from me, give me a kick in the arse!

4 thoughts on “Accountability and Training

  1. Pingback: Update – 90-Day Challenge « Live Coverage From My Train of Thought

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #14 + Lots of Treats! | cutedogsandhugs

Leave a Reply

