What I Ate Wednesday #14 + Lots of Treats!

The good news is I ate a little better this week than last. The bad news is I’m still not eating as well as I should be. C’est la vie! At least that’s progress, so I say it counts. Here’s this week’s edition of WIAW and, since it’s a new month, a new theme!

[Want to join in on the WIAW fun? Visit Jenn at Peas & Crayons for more info!]

There’s nothing at all spooky about my food this week, but I did have a few “treats” this week. Keep reading to find out!

[BREAKFAST]

(L) It’s been a solid two or more months since I had a fruit smoothie for breakfast. In an effort to flush the crud out of my system from my poor food decisions, I started my day off with a smoothie for breakfast on Monday. It included a banana, a handful of frozen strawberries, a handful of frozen mixed berries, a little bit of vanilla, and a glop of peanut butter. I haven’t added PB into my fruit smoothies before except for all banana smoothies, and lesson learned: Never again. The strawberry + PB mix was just weird.

(R) These pumpkin spice K-Cups were on sale at Market Basket for $8 a box, so Rich threw a box into the shopping cart for me. I haven’t had pumpkin coffee before and since it costs $2 for a regular at Dunkin Donuts, we figured we would just buy a box. If I didn’t like it, I could just leave the leftover cups in the kitchen at work for scavengers to fight over. I do like it, but it’s not something I would drink every day. (Sorry to all you pumpkin addicts!)

[LUNCH]

It’s been a couple of months since we’ve had dim sum. Sunday morning, we were just lying in bed when I asked Rich what he wanted for breakfast. His immediate response? Dim sum. I was game, so we headed to Hei La Moon in Chinatown for brunch. If you’ve never tried it, you must! I grew up on the stuff, but lots of people are intimidated by it. There are some more adventurous foods like beef tripe, but also your run of the mill stuff like veggie dumplings. What’s not to love about bite-size Chinese food?? Starting from the top left (clockwise), we had steamed pork buns, turnip cake, shrimp dumplings, and shu mai… and then some! Yummmy. Please excuse my dirty plate. =)

[DINNER]

We celebrated my dad’s birthday with a lobster dinner and homemade side dishes. My parents bought a dozen lobsters from Stop & Shop, and my brother and I each cooked a vegetable side dish or two. He made curried mixed veggies, and I made a green bean casserole (a family favorite) and roasted potatoes. You can find the casserole recipe here. (My version was slightly modified.) Everything was really tasty and a fraction of what it would cost in a restaurant. For dessert, we had marble cake with chocolate mousse filling from Konditor Meister. It was just as delicious as it looks!

[SNACKS]

(L) I have a weakness for potato chips, but especially barbecue flavored potato chips. Rich had a bag from his lunch sitting on the kitchen bench, so when I walked in the door and saw it sitting there, I  promptly snatched it up.

(R) This week, I brought stringed cheese and a Greek yogurt for snacks! Unpictured are the sad blueberries and honey to go with the yogurt.

That’s my weekly sampling of eats!

OK. For real this week. I am going to focus on eating mindfully and getting back to a normal exercise schedule. I have a plan to succeed! =)

Do you like to celebrate special occasions
with a home-cooked meal or dining out?

Are you an adventurous eater?

9 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #14 + Lots of Treats!

  1. My family always celebrates special occasions with an evening out. Band concert: Ice cream from the local dairy bar. All A’s: mcflurry from McDonalds. College scholarships: Olive Garden. Birthdays: Fazolis, or place of choosing. Lol. It was never very healthy food, but ya- It was goood!

  2. I really want to try dim sum. Someday! I love chips, too. Made the mistake of buying a (smallish, but not single-serving) bag of Better Made Rainbow Dark chips (not sure if you have them there… so good!) last week. After eating way more than I needed, I finally got wise and put them in the break room at work.

Leave a Reply

