What I Ate Wednesday #15 [Meat + Potatoes!]

Rich loves potatoes. Like loves loves loves loves loves them. We used to eat them a lot, but we kind of got out of the habit because they take so long to cook and we’re a bit impatient when it comes to eating. Well, this week we did a 180 and ate a ton of potatoes!

And want to know what we like to eat just as much as potatoes and goes really well with them? Meat! Sooo.. I dub this week’s WIAW the unofficial Week of Meat & Potatoes!

[Want to join in on the WIAW fun?
Visit Jenn at Peas & Crayons for more info!]

Let’s get started, shall we?

[BREAKFAST]

My day always starts off on the right foot when I have an omelet and coffee for breakfast. This week, I made a spinach and mushroom omelet with Swiss cheese and two sausage links on the side while working from home. It went just perfect with my delicious cup of coffee. =)

[LUNCH]

I wanted to switch my lunch up on Monday, so I decided to have a super random meal of McCain’s seasoned curly fries and a frozen salmon patty. The curly fries were an impulse buy of Rich’s and it really left a lot to be desired. Even though it claimed to be seasoned, it was almost tasteless. I had to douse it in ketchup, salt, and pepper in order to eat it. Oh well. Gotta try different things sometimes! I also had an apple (unpictured) to try and balance it out.

[DINNER]

A few of my dinners this week were an Aussie meat pie (minus the pie crust) with roasted potatoes, turkey meatballs with Ragu sauce with sweet potato tots, and spinach and proscuitto pizza. Everything was so yummy, except for the pizza which I give a “meh” rating. The key to a good pizza is all in the crust, and we made the mistake of buying low quality dough from Market Basket for dinner. We have problems with throwing away food, so we ate it all, but let it be a lesson learned to never use sub par dough again!

[SNACKS]

When I saw the photos of Jenn’s Chocolate Chocolate Chip Zucchini Pumpkin Brownie Cake (Phew! That was a mouthful!), I knew I had to make it. It sounded so simple and, since I love my hubby and fully support his chocolate addiction, I decided to give it a try. It was love at first bite! The only thing I’d change is to make it as mini muffins or in a bigger cake pan instead of a big loaf because it just didn’t cook enough in the middle, despite cooking for almost 1.5 hours. But, I won’t complain too much because being a little undercooked made the center really ooey gooey. Mmmmm.

That’s my weekly sampling of eats!

How often do you eat potatoes?

What’s a recipe you’ve tried recently that you’ve really loved?
Please share!

8 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #15 [Meat + Potatoes!]

    • Hi Jenn! I feel honored that you commented on my blog! LOL I live in Boston, so no on the altitude. Oven is from 2007. I may have put the loaf pan on the top rack rather than the center rack, but I’m not positive. Would it really have made THAT much of a difference?? Hubby won’t be disappointed if I try this one again! He ate two pieces right out of the oven. Haha

Leave a Reply

