The Training That Never Was

So…. remember that time I said I was going to follow a regimented running plan while on vacation and run in at least every new city I visited in Europe so that I was prepared for my first 5 miler on Turkey Day?

It turns out it’s a litttleee harder to find the energy than expected when you go to bed at 1am every day, sleep 6 hours a night, walk 10 miles a day, and are suffering from jet lag. We did manage a run once on day four when we were in Paris and ran from our hotel, up the Champ Elysees to the Arc de Triomphe, and back. It was a pretty cool experience, although I’m sure to Parisians it’s just another day in the life of.

This is pretty much what our view looked like.
[Source]

Anyways… back to training. I went for my first run in 2.5 weeks and my first long run in almost 3 weeks on Monday. All I can say about my run is: OUCH. I’m still really sore, even two days later. Despite all the walking in Europe, I still lost a lot of my fitness. I gave myself a rest day yesterday but made myself get on the upright cycle at the gym and bust out 10 miles to keep my legs moving. I do feel like it helped to loosen up my legs a little, but I will definitely be spending some quality time with the foam roller (again) tonight.

I envy people who can take a two or even three week hiatus from exercise all together and still be able to run a 6 miler. It doesn’t seem fair to me! Haha But sometimes this is the reminder I need to not give up on exercise or myself when it comes to living a healthier lifestyle.

What helps keep you on track
with your diet and exercise?

9 thoughts on “The Training That Never Was

  1. Running and vacations rarely mix, despite good intentions! You’ll be fine on Thursday! The most important thing is doing it and having fun. 🙂 I may end up walking if my ITB keeps being a jerk.

  2. erk. I am really in the middle of this one! I haven’t run for 10 weeks now, and probably it will be a few months more before I can again. Right now I cannot even walk for exercise – and “at my age” (which is probably twice yours) I sure hate to lose the fitness. I’m almost desperate enough to start swimming….gak
    Best of luck on the run! I love the new look too, it’s been a while since I’ve visited your page (sorry).

  3. I had the same good intentions while in Ireland. I was so proud of myself for packing my running shoes, even took pictures to post on my blog. But then the running thing never worked out. I wanted to! I thought about how I could make it work every night before I went to bed… Just never worked. So I feel ya!

    I LOVE that you ran down the Champs Elysees! What a cool experience! (Paris is one of my fave places.) Did you have to dodge a lot of pedestrians?

    You’ll get there. I was afraid to do my first ever 5-miler just 1.5 weeks after returning. I just made sure not to put any pressure on myself with time and enjoy the scenery. When I put it into that perspective, it made a big difference!

    • There weren’t many pedestrians around even though it was 7am, just restaurant employees setting up the tables and chairs for the day. I’m just going to enjoy the run on Thanksgiving, not worried about times or anything, just going to get it done. =)

  4. Well done for doing that run in Paris!

    In your defence, you had awful weather those few days in London – running on holiday is one thing, running and getting completely soaked to the skin on holiday is something else!

    You’ll be back into your routine in no time 🙂

    • We were in an absolutely perfect spot for river running in London, too! I guess it just wasn’t in the cards. It rained most days in every city we visited. I think we had one day of sun in each place, and when you only have a couple of days in a city, running is the last thing you want to do! LOL The rain was following us!

Leave a Reply

