She’s Just Not That Into You

I don’t know if it was my two-week vacation, the New England cold weather front (that doesn’t seem to go away for 6 months), daylight savings, or maybe a combination of all of the above…. but I’m just really not into you at the moment, Running.

For the better part of the last year and a bit, my love/hate relationship with running has been mostly love, so I suppose it’s time that the hate/strong dislike part set in. I have zilch motivation to run because all I really feel like doing right now is eating and getting fat. I worked too hard to lose 22 pounds to gain it all back at once, but I kiiiiiind of feel like packing on a little bit of winter weight.

20121120-143233.jpgOf course, I won’t allow myself to do that.. I couldn’t because of my own neurosis, so you would think that alone would be motivation to get up and moving, but it’s not working very well. The fact that I’m also not gaining any weight despite not exercising isn’t helping my case at all either. The other night, I was using tongs to flip sweet potato fries, and my arm started getting tired from being held up in one position for a couple of minutes.

Hmmm… I should probably start lifting weights again too…..

I wouldn’t want all that work and progress I’ve made over the last year to go down the toilet, but I need to find a way to get motivated. Maybe I should set my goals small again and simply focus on that.

What’s a simple goal for me? Running for 30 minutes a day, 3x a week again. And doing strength training once a week. No more stressing out over this 5 mile/10K business for the time being (which I’m completely winging on Thursday with Tracey BTW). I’ll admit it: Running for an hour is boring to me. Long distance running just wasn’t in my destiny, I guess, and I’m okay with that.

Maybe my passion for running will come back when the weather starts warming up, the birds chirp again, and flowers start to bloom… which likely won’t be for another 5 months. But for now, I’m going to focus on the little things, and hopefully the excitement for running will return.

4 thoughts on “She’s Just Not That Into You

  1. I’m with you – I am totally fickle about my running. One thing I have found that helps on longer run is listening to podcasts to help distract myself. Also switching up distances/exercises makes life a lot more interesting too. If you’re up for it, try jump romping – never a dull moment.

    • When I was training for a triathlon, exercising didn’t seem so bad! It was definitely the mix of workouts that kept things interesting. I definitely got burnt out from exercising 6x a week though! I’m an all or nothing kind of person, so I guess at the moment I’m at nothing… Haha

Leave a Reply

