Budgeting Challenge: Meal Planning #2

This is week 2 of the budgeting and meal planning challenge! It’s going well so far. (Yes, I know this is only week two!) Hopefully Rich doesn’t strangle me with the ridiculous amount of receipts, coupons, and flyers I’m currently compiling. I’m trying to save us some dough! At least it’s a neat, little pile in a corner of the kitchen….

ToaB

We were away for the weekend in western Mass visiting some friends, so I whisked my friend away for a little quiet time away from her hubby and three little ones to run errands and do a little Christmas shopping. I had some coupons to use and sale prices to take advantage of, which ended up saving me about $25 or 30% of my total spend. I also had a $5 gift card from Starbucks that the company sent me to get me back in their store, so we had some much-needed coffee time for free. Woohoo for savings and friend time!

Since we didn’t get home till close to 10pm on Sunday, our weekly grocery trip to Hannaford and BJ’s was postponed till Monday night after work. The bad news is we spent a little more on groceries this week than I had planned, but the good news is most of this stuff will last us more than a week. Here’s the breakdown:

This week, we spent $26.35 at BJ’s and $31.45 at Hannaford for a total of $57.80 [includes tax].

  • Goods lasting 1 month or more, average cost ~$5.68 a week
    • Smart Balance Light Butter Spread:  $1.64 (used a $0.75 off coupon)
    • 3 cans of soup:  $3.50 (used a $1.00 off coupon)
    • Bread machine yeast:  $3.99
    • Gallon of OJ:  $6.09  [Hubs loooooves his OJ!]
    • 3-lb bottle o’ honey:  $7.49  [for homemade bread!]
  • Goods lasting two weeks, average cost ~$11.45 a week
    • Tex’s white tortillas:  $2.29
    • 3 Hannaford greek yogurts:  $2.85
    • 5-lb box of clementines:  $4.99  [CRAAAZZYYYY SALE!]
    • 22-oz bag of spinach:  $3.99
    • 24-oz mushrooms: $3.79
    • 4 bell peppers:  $4.99
  • Goods lasting one week, average cost ~$8.50 a week
    • 1-lb of lunch meat:  $5.33
    • 2.5-lbs of bananas:  $1.72
    • 0.73-lbs of green beans:  $1.45

That means we spent about $25.63 this week on groceries. My goal is to spend $35 or less for the entire week, so we made goal for the week. Woohoo! I know we can keep the bills low for a little whole longer by not buying meat; we already have a lot in the freezer that we need to cook up.

Here’s what we plan on cooking for the week with our load and stuff already on hand:

  • Breakfasts
    • Homemade bread for toast with PB and banana
    • Scrambled Egg Beaters with cheddar cheese
    • Turkey bacon
    • Fresh eggs
  • Lunches
    • Turkey and ham sandwich
    • Spinach salad with dried cranberries, goat cheese, cucumber, carrots, and protein (lunch meat or chicken sausage)
  • Dinners
  • Snacks
    • Clementines
    • Various snacks from my Love With Food box
    • Laughing Cow and biscuits
    • Bananas
    • Greek yogurt
    • Carrots and hummus
    • Pistachios

It’s Tuesday, which means the flyers for next week’s grocery deals are coming in the mail soon! I’ve learned to appreciate the little things in life. It’s also a really good way for me to keep myself busy while Rich is away. =)

Did you score any good buys at the super market this week?

What are some things you’ve done recently to save a dime?

3 thoughts on “Budgeting Challenge: Meal Planning #2

  1. Pingback: [What I Ate Wednesday #22] The Home Stretch | cutedogsandhugs

Leave a Reply

