[What I Ate Wednesday #20] December Already?!

I have trouble believing that it’s already December. Seriously… where did the time go? It’s almost 2013! I love this time of year and the festivities, but I do not like the fact that it’s winter because it lasts for way too long in this part of the country. I’m trying to stay positive and enjoy it, cold and all. It’s been in the 50s the last few days, but it’s expected to get much colder next week. Brrrrr! Even my blog is getting hit by snow… Did you notice the flake effect? =)

The only good thing about winter and cold weather is comfort foods. Definitions of comfort foods may not be the same for everyone, but I love me a good soup and hearty sandwich. I may even make an attempt at home made mac ‘n cheese on Sunday for hubs and I to enjoy together before he treks off to Virginia on business. Bring on the food!

Anyway, nothing too exciting in my world of food this week. I was bad with photos in both quantity and quality, but here’s just a few I snapped for you.

As always, thank you to Jenn at Peas & Crayons for hosting!

Ready. Set. Drool!

WIAW #20 Collage

[BREAKFAST]

I love my usual Monday morning meal: English muffin or toast with an egg (scrambled or fried). This week I added a little turkey bacon for extra protein since we had it lying around. Nom nom.

[LUNCH]

I made my go to salad for lunch a few times this week: Spinach with goat cheese, dried cranberries, a sprinkle of flax seeds, cucumbers, baby carrots, and bell peppers topped with a veggie patty and lite honey mustard dressing. There are so many flavors to keep it interesting. It also uses a lot of the produce that we usually buy each week, so hardly anything goes to waste!

[DINNER]

In an effort to improve our bottom line, I’ve been making meals out of what we already have in the fridge and cupboards. Rich was away for most of last week, so I just whipped a couple things up real quick for dinners: salmon burger with McCain’s fries (healthy?) and turkey meatballs with spaghetti squash and Ragu sauce accompanied with my homemade bread.

Lastly, we had a friend over for dinner last night, so I made a rosemary and sage pork roast. It came out perfect. I’ll post the “official” recipe another day, but it was simply a {butter, sage, rosemary, EVOO, salt, pepper, garlic} mix lathered all over the pork loin and cooked in the oven at 425°F (or 200°C) for an hour. Absolutely easy and perfect.

That’s my weekly sampling of eats!

How are you gearing up for the holidays?

8 thoughts on “[What I Ate Wednesday #20] December Already?!

  1. Pingback: [What I Ate Wednesday #21] ‘Tis the Season? | cutedogsandhugs

  2. Yummyyy food 🙂 n I agree, feels like just yesterday wen I wrote an over view of tge year 2011 n now just a few more days b4 2013 starts, the year just slipped by……

    • I feel kind of cool and honored that you’re commenting on my blog, Miss Jennnn!

      Yes, 2012 went by way too fast. Sometimes I think someone put us in a time machine and fast forwarded us way too far! 2012 was good to me, so hopefully 2013 will be even better. =)

Leave a Reply

