What’s Your Optimal Pace?

Do you have an time goal in mind for your next race, but have no idea at what level you should really be training? I recently decided to focus on improving my 5K time, and I found a great website that told me exactly that:

The McMillan Running Calculator

It’s a great tool that you can use to find your optimal pace depending on your current time, goal time, and type of run (i.e. easy run, long run, tempo, etc.) All you do is plug in your current time, your goal time, and the distance and the calculator will do the rest for you. Since I had no clue beforehand, I used the calculator to figure out my optimal pace for tempo, easy, and speedwork runs as I try to get better and faster at running. I found it really helpful, so I hope you do too!

12 thoughts on “What’s Your Optimal Pace?

  1. Reading this post is such perfect timing! I’m trying to improve my 5k time, and I want to run a 10k in the spring! I’ll definitely be using this calculator. I have NO idea what I’m doing trying to figure it out myself haha

    • Winter is the best time for speed work because I feel like that’s when most people take breaks from races! Also, TM running is so boring, so short speed workouts are good for that. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

