Budgeting Challenge: Meal Planning #3

This is week 3 of the budgeting and meal planning challenge and another successful week of saving some dough!

ToaB

I had to do a couple of CVS and Walgreens runs this week and had a couple of coupons to use. There were also some sales going on with the products I needed, so I ended up saving about $25 or 42% of my total spend. Have I ever mentioned that I love BOGO Free coupons? I don’t immediately need to use what I bought this week, but they don’t have an expiration date so why not stock up a little when I’ll need them in a couple of months and save a little money?

I planned my meals for the upcoming week based on what I already had on hand and drafted up my short shopping list based on what I wanted to make. Rich will be away this week, so I like to keep it simple when I’m cooking for one. This week, we spent $34 on groceries but some of it will last longer than just this week.

Here’s our load:

  • Goods lasting 1 month or more, average cost ~$2.45 a week
    • Campbell’s Gourmet Bisques Soup (2 boxes):  $4.00 (used a $1 off for 2 coupon; also $0.50 off per box on sale at Walgreens)
    • Ground cumin:  $3.89
    • Dozen eggs:  $1.92
  • Goods lasting two weeks, average cost ~$4.98 a week
    • Cucumber:  $1.99
    • Baby carrots:  $2.49
    • Shredded mozzarella cheese:  $2.49
    • Ricotta cheese: $2.99
  • Goods lasting one week, average cost ~$13.37 a week
    • 0.5-lb of lunch meat:  $4.23
    • 3.64-lbs of bananas:  $2.51
    • Broccoli:  $2.11
    • Mangos (2):  $1.98
    • Asparagus:  $2.54

That means we’ll use about $22 worth of groceries this week, meeting my goal of $35 or under. We’re kind of running low on ice cream, so that may need to be added to the list for next week…

Here’s what I plan on cooking for the week with our load and stuff already on hand:

  • Breakfasts
    • Homemade bread for toast with PB and banana
    • Scrambled Egg Beaters with cheddar cheese
    • Turkey bacon
    • Fried egg
  • Lunches
    • Tuna sandwich
    • Spinach salad with dried cranberries, goat cheese, cucumber, carrots, and ham deli meat
    • Soup
  • Dinners
    • Homemade mac and cheese with broccoli
    • Meatloaf with asparagus
  • Snacks
    • Clementines
    • Laughing Cow and biscuits
    • Bananas
    • Greek yogurt
    • Carrots and hummus
    • Mixed nuts

After next week, I plan on doing a comparison of last month’s grocery spend versus this month’s grocery spend to see how much we saved. It should be pretty eye-opening, so stay tuned and check back next week!

How do you plan on saving some dough this holiday season?

4 thoughts on “Budgeting Challenge: Meal Planning #3

  1. Pingback: Budgeting Challenge: Meal Planning #4 | cutedogsandhugs

  2. Pingback: [What I Ate Wednesday #21] ‘Tis the Season? | cutedogsandhugs

Leave a Reply

