Greetings from the Face of the Earth

Hello!

Greetings from the face of the Earth! I seem to have fallen off of it.

I received a few (okay, maybe just one from Jill at Jogging Jeans) emails from concerned readers wondering where the heck I was. Have no fear. I’m still here.. and doing a whole lot of nothing.

I mentioned before that I was going on a mini-vacation to Florida. After that, I kind of fell way of the radar. There’s not much to that story except that I caught a terrible, no good, very bad cold a few days after coming home and it kept me down and out for the count for a long time. I blame it on the fact that I went to the germy gym the Thursday after getting back and was immediately hit with the head cold the following Friday. Serves me right for going to the gym.

I’m still suffering from the dreaded cough, which always seems to linger for a few weeks. Right now, albuterol and Flovent are my best friends. The worst part about coughing all day is that it’s pretty exhausting on my body and makes me want to sleep all day. The first few nights I was waking up every 30 minutes to an hour like clockwork for a coughing fit or nose-blowing episode. I’ve since graduated in a week and a half to 3 or 4 hours of uninterrupted sleep between coughing fits. I feel blessed.

Anyhoooo… You might be wondering what else we’ve been up to. And if you weren’t, well, I’ll tell you anyways.

  • Not running.  2012 was an epic year for me in terms of running and races. I ran a lot, conquered a couple of things on my bucket list (like a 5 miler and triathlon), and felt the healthiest I’d ever been. The honest truth is that I haven’t run “much” since mid-January, so this cold is not really helping my case. As Tracey would say, I’m drifting along with the tumbleweeds right now.
  • Half marathon premiere.  No, silly. Not my half marathon premiere. After some pestering/pep-talking on my end, Rich finally signed up for a half marathon! He’s one of those lucky people who can call themselves a natural runner, so I knew it would be a challenging but doable goal. He started his training regimen in February and will be running Boston’s Run to Remember in May. I plan on meeting him somewhere along the way while feeding my face with a sandwich. BLTs at the finish line!
  • Blog Clean Up.  As a result of my epic non-running streak, I decided to clean up my WordPress Reader. I was starting to get down on myself while reading running blogs, so I thought it was time to get rid of some from my rotation. Blogs should pull you up, not push you down! I was getting sick of reading about other’s “crappy 9:00 easy run pace,” so bye bye self-created negativity.

So, that was a really crappy list, but I guess I thought I had more to update you on. I’m really going to try to get my rear in gear over the next few weeks to re-focus this blog back on healthy eats and living. I’m not going to promise that I’ll start blogging 3-4 times a week again right now. I don’t make promises I can’t keep.

But I can promise you that I won’t miss another Tonto Tuesday post for a while. I know that’s the only reason you all come here.

2 thoughts on “Greetings from the Face of the Earth

Leave a Reply

