[What I Ate Wednesday #29] Homemade Taco Seasoning

About a year and a half ago, I made a conscious effort to make some healthy changes in my life. They included losing weight, getting fit, and eating better. It didn’t take me long to realize that all three of those things went hand in hand with each other. In order to lose weight, I had to exercise more and nourish my body with healthy foods and nutritious ingredients, and that included what we used to season our food.

As always, thank you to Jenn at Peas & Crayons for hosting!

One thing that I was never a fan of, even before making these important lifestyle changes, was pre-packed food seasonings. Our favorite has always been taco seasoning because it’s so versatile. You can use it on chicken, pork, and beef and on tacos, chili, stew, soup − or whatever else your heart desires!

Sure − I didn’t use it very often, but when I did, boy did my body never let me forget it; I had bloat for daysssss. It’s no wonder why either. Look at the ingredient list!

taco-seasoning-packet-ingredients

Sounds like my high school chem class
(source)

Now that I’m expecting, staying away from that list of chemicals is even more important than before. I don’t want to have chemical-induced gas pains, and neither does this little peanut. So what do we do now when we need our favorite seasoning blend? Make it ourselves!

We always have all the individual ingredients in our spice cabinet for other cook-ups, so we mix up a batch of this blend and store it in a small spice jar for next time. Whenever we run out, we just do the same old dog-and-pony show and put it in the reserves for when the mood strikes us again. Now it’s my time to share the goodness with you!

Homemade Taco Seasoning_CDAH


Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 3 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

Directions

1. Dump all the ingredients in a small bowl, combine well, and transfer it to a small, air-tight mason or spice jar for later!

Source: Modified from What’s That Smell?

I hope you enjoy this easy, one-minute recipe! I promise you won’t miss any of the maltodextrins, thiamine mononitrates, or silicon dioxides with this one. And if you do… well, you’re weird and you got problems that I can’t help you with. Tonight we’ll be indulging in some delicious (and healthy!slow-cooker salsa chicken using our go-to taco seasoning! (Thanks for the recipe suggestion, Carrie!)

… Don’t forget to check out my other yummy recipes!

10 thoughts on “[What I Ate Wednesday #29] Homemade Taco Seasoning

  1. Pingback: [What I Ate Wednesday #35] Bison Tacos | cutedogsandhugs

  2. Pingback: [What I Ate Wednesday #30] Slow Cooked Salsa Chicken | cutedogsandhugs

  3. Soooo with you on this. I was actually planning to do a post on “make your own spice blends” soon, but you beat me to it. 😉 I haven’t found the perfect taco seasoning blend, so I’m going to give yours a go. But truthfully, it’s so much easier to use what you have in your pantry… and without all of those fillers!

Leave a Reply

