In the Pits

I’ve been lucky enough to feel pretty good physically and emotionally for about 98% of my 16 weeks of pregnancy so far. When I woke up this morning, I had a feeling today would not one of those days. Physically I felt fine, but emotionally… That was another story.

I know I’m not the first pregnant woman to feel this way, but I’m having trouble coping with my weight gain. It’s a natural part of the process: eat nutritious foods and gain weight so that baby can grow big and strong. So why am I having so much trouble dealing with it?

How I saw myself when I looked in the mirror this morning.

In the early stages of my pregnancy, I ate a lot of junk because there wasn’t much that I wanted to eat that was good for me. I paid for it with a double-digit gain in the first 12 weeks. Luckily, it’s leveled off quite a bit since then, but I just woke up today feeling fat and disgusted with myself when I looked in the mirror. (Thanks, hormones, for blowing everything out of proportion.) I think I just need my belly to “pop” so that I actually look pregnant rather than just pudgy.

So, I need to get out of the pits. Every pregnancy is different and, while I may not be like other bloggers who gained less than 10 pounds at 30+ weeks (Comparison is the thief of joy, Tiffany…), I need to enjoy the ride and focus on the positives.

A dozen donuts would definitely make me happy, but it’s probably not a good idea.

So with that, I’ve decided to do the following to make sure I continue down the healthy [and happy!] path:

  • Use MyFitnessPal to track calories.  I’m not doing this to lose weight. Keeping track of my food intake will help assure me that I’m not consuming nearly as many calories as I think I am. I thought I’d be consuming 2,500 calories today (crazy brain), but when I pre-tracked everything, it turned out to be only around 1,600.
  • Get moving 4 – 5 times a week.  Now that the weather’s fining up and the sun is shining past dinner time, I have no reason to not go for a walk most days at lunch or after work. As my friend Lauren said, sunshine is your friend. I’ll continue to supplement walking with my prenatal workout DVD.
  • Take time to think.  I’m going to set aside some time every day to think about the changes I’m going through and how big and strong this little peanut is getting because of it.

I’m already feeling better. Chances are I won’t have another Debbie Downer episode for awhile, but I’ll do whatever I can to prevent a relapse. I doubt anyone wants to hear more whinging and whining from me again anyway.

What are some sure fire ways you pick yourself up
when you’re in a rut?

6 thoughts on “In the Pits

  1. Pingback: 16 Weeks: Pregnancy Update | cutedogsandhugs

Leave a Reply

