17 Weeks: Pregnancy Update

I think at a time like this, we need reminders of the good there still is in the world. I hesitated when thinking about posting this week’s pregnancy update, but I think we all need a little more happiness in the world of social media right now. I hope nobody thinks this is insensitive, selfish, or inappropriate.

17 weeks

Unintentionally giving Rich a dirty look in this photo…
[taken at 17w4d]

How far along? 17 weeks [and 4 days]!

Baby is the size of an … Onion! Baby F is 5.1 inches long and weighs 5.9 ounces. Getting big!

How has (s)he changed this week? Our little peanut is fattening up and turning rubbery cartilage into bone.

So far, I’ve gained … Not sure. Haven’t weighed myself this week.

Sleep has been … Better than last week. Lots of toilet breaks in the night.

I feel … Extremely emotional about everything after the week’s earlier events.

I miss … Medium rare steak!! Well done steaks just aren’t the same.

Craving … Cereal with milk! I never eat cereal but have been having a bowl before bed almost every night as my dessert.

Keep me away from … Nothing. =) Everything (that is cooked well done) is fair game.

Symptoms? Carpal tunnel, mild headache once or twice a week, and stuffy nose!

Gender? We’re going to let Baby F surprise us.

Maternity clothes? A pair of work pants, but it’s time to shop for some tops. Most of mine are too short now.

Movement? None yet.

Exercise? Just walking.

Healthy eats? Salad, cantaloupe, watermelon, apples, eggs, and veggies!

Splurges? Nutella cookies that our friend Christina made for us. Yummy!

Wedding rings on or off? Still on.

My best moment was … Making myself take Tonto for a walk the other night even though I was dead tired. It gave me a much needed energy boost.

Looking forward to … Our 18 week ultrasound appointment next week and finally feeling baby kicks!

9 thoughts on “17 Weeks: Pregnancy Update

  1. This is soo amazing :))) and am glad u can have milk, i have to mix horlicks in order to have milk n dat too gives me a heartburn, milk wid nothing mixed makes me feel sick n bloaty 😦 but am glad rest all is good, ive already started to feel the movement which is pretty faint right now but i know its the movement for sure n its suchc an amazing feeling, i really hope u start to feel it soon too 🙂
    Biigggg hugggsss from one mommy to b to another 🙂
    Mwahhhhhhh

    • I don’t drink milk by itself, so the cereal helps add flavor. I’ve been eating a lot of Cinnamon Toast Crunch! Still not feeling movement, but we had an ultrasound yesterday so we know Baby F is moving around tons.

      • awwww dats amazing, its a blessing to see the baby move like that n swimming in there 😀 i really hope u start feeling the movement soon, u wil enjoy it 🙂
        yeaaa milk itself sucks i think i shud try sum cereal too. 🙂
        keep pampering ur self babe
        u deserve it 🙂
        hugssssss

  2. I cannot believe how far along you are already! You are looking beautiful in the above photo. I did have to laugh at the caption below thow :). I love that you guys are letting Baby F be a surprise! So exciting =)

    • Well I didn’t announce it on the blog until 13 weeks, so it hasn’t been that long I guess. 😉 We figure it’s one of the few surprises you can have, so we’re going to just go for it. 🙂

  3. I can’t imagine eating a well-done steak. That’d be too dry for me! I think I’d have to skip steaks for those nine-months… Try the meatballs I posted Friday. I think you’d like them and they aren’t dry at all. I love your updates and seeing your progress. Cheers~

    • We normally have our steaks medium-rare, so having a well done steak just doesn’t cut it so I haven’t been eating much steak unless its tips. I’ll have to look up your meatball recipe!

Leave a Reply

