[What I Ate Wednesday #33] Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

And the sweets trend continues! About 5 months ago, bananas and I decided we needed a break from one another. Well, I should say I needed a break from them. I just couldn’t deal with the taste and texture of it (and most other fruits and veggies) for the first few months of my pregnancy, so I decided to take a hiatus from my daily banana habit for a little while. Well, I’m happy to report that bananas and I are back on! And we couldn’t be more happy.

I’m going to keep the dessert train going this week with another sinfully sweet delight: chocolate chip banana bread! Just be forewarned that this is not one of my healthier recipe shares, even if it has bananas in it! If only that one magic ingredient could cancel out all that butter and sugar. =)

[As always, thanks to Jenn at Peas & Crayons for hosting!]

There are easy ways to substitute ingredients to lighten up this: applesauce or pureed pumpkin in place of butter, egg whites in place of eggs, or nuts in place of chocolate chips. (Click here for more ideas on how to lighten up your favorite recipes!) I haven’t tried any of these substitutes though and I’m not sure how it will affect the flavor of this decadent dish, so don’t take my word for it! I plan on experimenting with it soon though!

If you’re not a fan of chocolate (you are crazy BTW) , you can omit it completely or throw in your nut of choice instead! I love nuts in banana bread but unfortunately we didn’t have any walnuts on hand. Anyway.. too much talking and not enough sharing! Let’s get to it, shall we?

Choc Chip Banana Bread_CDAH


Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup butter , softened  (We use Smart Balance buttery sticks to lighten it up a little.)
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 – 3 1/2 over-ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 cup (or however much you want!) chocolate of choice
  • Pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F (175°C). Lightly grease a loaf pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt until mixed well.
  3. In a medium small bowl, cream together the butter and brown sugar. Add the eggs and mashed bananas and mix until well combined.
  4. Stir the banana and butter mixture into the flour blend and mix until even. Add chocolate chips and mix well.
  5. Pour batter into the greased loaf pan and bake for 60 minutes or until a toothpick can be inserted into center of the loaf cleanly. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack. [Sometimes we undercook the bread a little to give it a more mushy texture, which is a nice change up!]

Source: Inspired by AllRecipes.com

… Don’t forget to check out my other yummy recipes!

…………………………

NUTRITIONAL INFO*

Servings Per Recipe: 14 thin slices • Serving Size: 1 slice • Calories: 236.1
Total Fat: 9.5 g • Cholesterol: 40.7 mg • Sodium: 135.3 mg
Carbs: 35.6 g • Dietary Fiber: 0.9 g • Protein: 3.5 g
WeightWatchers® PointsPlus™: 7 per serving
*All nutritional info is estimated using MyFitnessPal.com. Actuals may differ based upon product brand.

4 thoughts on “[What I Ate Wednesday #33] Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: 19 Weeks: Pregnancy Update | cutedogsandhugs

Leave a Reply

