[What I Ate Wednesday #34] Gluten Free Teriyaki Steak Tips

Did anyone notice that I went from #31 to #33 two weeks ago with my WIAW posts? Neither did I until I started drafting this post! I’m going to chalk it up to baby brain!

As he does for the majority of the year, Rich has been away on biz-nas a lot lately, so I’ve been on my own for the majority of my meals Monday through Friday. He doesn’t like to be away so frequently, but I think he’s been regretting it more than usual the last few weeks when he found out I’ve been making it a habit of eating steak tips while he’s gone. A couple of weeks ago I made tips using homemade teriyaki sauce and thought I’d share the recipe with you this week.

[As always, thanks to Jenn at Peas & Crayons for hosting!]

This week’s recipe is so simple it’s silly. All you need is a few Asian inspired sauces, some brown sugar, a thickening agent, and the meat (or tofu) of your choice! It’s even gluten-friendly as long as you see gluten-free soy! I made my tips with steak because I try to get in a few servings of red meat each week for iron, but also because I love steak and can find any excuse to eat it.

teriyaki tips_cdah


Ingredients

For the Sauce 

[double the recipe if you prefer more saucy tips!]

  • 3/4 cup cold water
  • 1/3  cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce (make sure your soy sauce is GF if needed!)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsp corn starch
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil
For the Meat
  • 1 pound beef tips, cut into 2″ pieces

Directions

  1. In a saucepan, mix all six ingredients for the sauce and cook over medium-heat. Whisk continually. Be careful not to let the sauce boil and spill over!  [The color and consistency of the sauce will change as it begins to thicken.]
  2. Once the sauce is thickened to your liking, remove the saucepan from the heat and set aside to cool.
  3. Place the tips into a large bowl and pour cooled sauce over the meat. Mix until evenly distributed.
  4. Marinate for an hour or more!  [I try to marinate overnight or an hour at minimum.]
  5. On the grill or a large pan over medium heat, cook the meat to your desired level of thoroughness. [I think steak is best cooked medium rare, but unfortunately I have to enjoy it medium well to well since I’m prego.]
  6. Serve hot with your side of choice: boiled or grilled corn, mashed potatoes, or asparagus are my favorite pairings at the moment!

Source: Inspired by One Good Thing by Jillee

You can always make the sauce ahead of time and store it in the fridge for up to a week. It’s always nice to have some homemade sauce in your fridge, ready to go!

… Don’t forget to check out my other yummy recipes!

…………………………

NUTRITIONAL INFO*

Servings Per Recipe: 4 • Serving Size: 4 oz of tips • Calories: 230.4
Total Fat: 4.2 g • Cholesterol: 68.0 mg • Sodium: 653.8 mg
Carbs: 28.1 g • Dietary Fiber: 0.1 g • Protein: 25.0 g
WeightWatchers® PointsPlus™: 6 per serving
*All nutritional info is estimated using SparkRecipes.com. Actuals may differ based upon product brand.

6 thoughts on “[What I Ate Wednesday #34] Gluten Free Teriyaki Steak Tips

  1. Pingback: [What I Ate Wednesday #43] Time Traveling | cutedogsandhugs

  2. Pingback: [What I Ate Wednesday #43] Time Traveling | cutedogsandhugs

  3. Pingback: High Protein Dinners? | Season It Already!

  4. Pingback: Healthy Beef Tips Over Rice - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

