23 Weeks: Pregnancy Update

23 weeks

How far along? 23 weeks and 5 days

Baby is the size of a … Grapefruit! Baby is about 11 inches long and weighs just over a pound.

How has (s)he changed this week? (S)he is developing blood vessels in its lungs to prepare for breathing, and his or her hearing is getting better every day.

So far, I’ve gained … 24.5 pounds total, about half a pound this week.

Sleep has been … Not that great but I blame Rich’s absence at home for that one. =) It’s been better since he got back on Tuesday night.

I feel … Tired. I’ve been going to bed too late. I sound like a broken record! Also, I’ve had a lot of back pain this week after all that carpet scrubbing from when Tonto was sick  over the weekend. I also read that my uterus is the size of a soccer ball now… No wonder my back hurts!

I miss … Nothing at the moment

Craving …  Chocolate chip cookies! Finally had one on Wednesday. =) And Mexican food

Keep me away from … Nothing!

Symptoms?  Itchiness, carpal tunnel, back pain, and slight swelling in my extremities from the heat and humidity — Summer is here!

Gender? Boy! Or girl. Who knows!

Maternity clothes? Most clothes at this point (definitely all bottoms!) except for a few tops

Movement? Baby must have done some serious growing this week! He or she is on the moooove constantly, including right now!

Exercise? Some walking and stretching

Healthy eats? Pineapple (can’t stop. won’t stop), salads, grapes, bananas, and overnight oats

Splurges? Potato chips and gelato

Wedding rings on or off?  On but sadly I might have to stop wearing my engagement ring on hot and humid days… like today! Swelling is no fun, and I don’t want to have to cut any of my rings off.

My best moment was … Sitting in bed feeling tons of baby kicks and jabs with Rich’s hands on my belly =)

Looking forward to … A beach day finally!

7 thoughts on “23 Weeks: Pregnancy Update

  1. Awww it’s such a neat little bump too! When my mum was pregnant with me she had cravings for cream soda and carrot cake, yes, sometimes at the same time!

    Glad to see everything is going well but the heat must be just horrible. *hugs*

    ~Amy

    • Cream soda and carrot cake isn’t that strange in my opinion! Whatever keeps the pregnant lady happy. =) The heat wave is over luckily! Back to happy, cooler temps =)

Leave a Reply

