[What I Ate Wednesday #40] The Best Choc Chip Cookies {from a non-baker}

Make thsee cookies immediately. Seriously. I am not joking. Baking and I have a love-hate relationship, so when I tell you to bake something, I really mean it. Even I didn’t screw these up, and that’s saying something.

I know I promised Jenn that I wouldn’t cheat on my WIAW posts anymore, but since she’s off gallivanting with P and the chickpea and probably won’t catch me in the act, I’m going to take the easy way out this week and share with you just one thing that I’ve been noshing on at alarming rates this week: soft and chewy chocolate chip cookies.

 

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll remember my epic baking fail a couple of weeks ago. They tasted good but they certainly didn’t look that way. And incase you don’t follow me on the IG, here’s what happened when I attempted to make cookies:

Photo Aug 26, 8 49 42 PM

As you can see… not my best work. Of course, I’m no quitter and had to attempt to redeem myself by trying yet another chocolate chip cookie recipe. This one promised to be “the best chocolate chip cookies you’ll ever make” that are “soft and gooey in the center with a tiny bit of crisp around the edge.” Yada yada yada. I gave into the marketing and decided to let my (and Rich’s) tastebuds be the judge.

The trick to these cookies is to let the butter soften at room temperature for about an hour. It shouldn’t be melted at all. The other trick, the secret ingredient if you will, is cornstarch. Yes, cornstarch – it makes them thick yet soft. It sounds odd but I’m convinced that’s what makes these cookies.

Anyway, time to get your hands dirty and your face filthy. Get ready to faceplant into some of these puppies!

Choc Chip Cookies
Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup light butter, room temperature {NOT melted!}
  • 1/4 cup margarine, room temperature  {NOT melted!}
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups (or to your liking!) chocolate chips of choice  {semi-sweet is Rich’s favorite}

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, cream together butter, margarine, brown sugar, and granulated sugar until fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla and mix until well combined. You fancy people with stand mixers can use it during this step!
  2. Mix the flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl and whisk well until even.
  3. Add these dry ingredients to your butter, sugar and vanilla/egg mixture and mix well.
  4. Stir in a generous serving of chocolate chips.
  5. Chill the cookie dough for at least one hour. Do NOT omit this step! You can thank me later. 😉
  6. Towards the end of the chilling stage, preheat the oven to 350° and line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  7. Drop a 1 tbsp sized dough ball onto your cookie sheet. If you want bigger cookies, use an overflowing tbsp!
  8. Bake for 8-10 minutes until the edges are just barely golden brown. Watch the cookies carefully because they can overcook quickly.
  9. Let the cookies set on the pan for five minutes where they’ll continue to cook, and then transfer them to a to cookie rack to cool completely.

Source: Slightly modified from Baby Gizmo

So what did you think?

…………………………

NUTRITIONAL INFO*

Servings Per Recipe: 3 dozen small cookies • Serving Size: 1 cookie • Calories: 124.1
Total Fat: 5.3 g • Cholesterol: 10.0 mg • Sodium: 60.5 mg
Carbs: 15.3 g • Dietary Fiber: 0.2 g • Protein: 0.8 g
WeightWatchers® PointsPlus™: 3 per serving
*All nutritional info is estimated using SparkRecipes.com. Actuals may differ based upon product brand.

Leave a Reply

